Country Reports

New CMR project will disclose international case law

In 1956 the parties to the CMR-treaty wrote in the Preamble about the desirability of standardizing the conditions governing the contract for the international carriage of goods by road. As article 31 CMR made national courts competent for legal proceedings arising under the CMR Convention, nowadays every member state has its own legal interpretations on different issues.

Anno 2020 it is time to make a collection of national case law on CMR-treaty. Below, you can find so-called Country reports written by correspondents living and working in the member state. In this reports all issues are systematically dealt with.

IDIT and Foundation Vervoeradres publish reports per country, written by practitioners from member states of the convention. These reports provide information about the interpretation by national judges of all the articles.

All reports have the same format, facilitating international legal comparison.

Country report of Portugal

The information in the country report of Portugal has been provided by Mateus Andrade Dias and Maria Andrade Dias, lawyers and partners of Andrade Dias law firm.

Country report of United Kingdom

The information in the country report of United Kingdom has been provided by  John Habergham, director and solicitor at Myton Law, and Christopher Chatfield, lawyer and partner of Kennedys law firm.

Country report of France

The information in the country report of France has been provided by Frédéric Letacq researcher at IDIT and Cécile Legros, Professor of Law at the University of Rouen Normandy and Scientific Director at IDIT.

Country report of Belgium / Belgique / België

The information in the country report of Belgium has been provided for by Frederik Vanden Bogaerde, Mathias Dendievel, Vincent van der Mast, Ruben Dewiele, lawyers working with Transport en Logistiek Advocaten.

Country report of Denmark / Danmark

The information in the country report of Denmark has been provided by Mads Poulsen and Aage Krogh, lawyers and partners of IUNO law firm.

Country report of Germany / Deutschland

The information in the country report of Germany has been provided by Tobias Eckardt, lawyer and partner of Ahlers & Vogel  law firm, and Joachim Staab, lawyer and partner of Van Diepen Van der Kroef law firm.

Country report of Italy / Repubblica Italiana

The information in the country report of Italy has been provided by professor Francesca Pellegrino, full professor  and Cinzia Ingratoci, Associate professor, both working at the Department of Law, University of Messina.

 

Country report of United Kingdom

The information in the country report of the United Kingdom has been provided by John Habergham, director and solicitor at Myton Law.

Country report of Croatia / Hrvatska

The information in the country report of Croatia has been provided by prof. Nikoleta Radionov, full professor in maritime law at the University of Zagreb and Adriana Padovan, senior research associate at the Adriatic Institute of the Croationa Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Country report of Lithuania / Lietuvos Respublika

The information in the country report of Lithuania has been provided by Giedrus Abromavicius, senior associate at the Baltics law firm Cobalt.

Rapports Pays

Interprétation de la CMR par les juges

Le préambule de la convention internationale CMR reconnaît l'utilité de régler de manière uniforme les conditions du contrat de transport international de marchandises par route.

Les différentes juridictions nationales compétentes devant lesquelles sont portées les litiges interprètent cependant de manière indépendante et selon leurs propres critères les articles de la convention. Aussi, il est primordial de disposer d’informations sur la jurisprudence, publiées dans les différents états adhérents à la convention.

Fondation VervoeradresL’IDIT et la fondation Vervoeradres publient et mettent à votre disposition des rapports par pays rédigés par des praticiens, correspondants dans les Etats parties à la convention. Ces rapports contiennent des informations sur l’interprétation par les juges nationaux de l’ensemble des articles de la CMR.

Tous les rapports ont la même présentation et le même format, ce qui permet d’effectuer des analyses de droit comparé pertinentes sur la convention CMR et le transport international routier.

Rapport pays: Portugal 

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays du Portugal ont été fournies par Mateus Andrade Dias et Maria Andrade Dias, avocats et partners du cabinet Andrade Dias.

Rapport pays: Royaume-Uni

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays de Royaume-Uni ont été fournies par John Habergham, avocat et directeur de Cabinet Myton Law, et Christopher Chatfield, avocat et partner de Cabinet Kennedys. 

Rapport pays: France

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays de la France ont été fournies par Frédéric Letacq, attaché de recherches à l'IDIT and Cécile Legros, Professeur de droit à l'Université de Rouen et Directrice scientifique de l'IDIT.

Rapport pays : Belgique / België

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays de la Belgique ont été fournies par Frederik Vanden Bogaerde, Mathias Dendievel, Vincent van der Mast, Ruben Dewiele, avocats, Cabinet Transport en Logistiek Advocaten.

Rapport pays : Danemark / Danmark

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays du Danemark ont été fournies par Mads Poulsen et Aage Krogh, avocats et partners du cabinet IUNO.

Rapport pays : Allemagne / Deutschland

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays d'Allemagne ont été fournies par Tobias Eckardt, avocat Cabinet Ahlers & Vogel, et Joachim Staab, avocat Cabinet Van Diepen Van der Kroef.

Rapport pays : Italie / Repubblica Italiana

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays d'Italie ont été fournies par Francesca Pellegrino, Professeur et Cinza Ingratoci, Professeur agrégéé, Faculté de droit de l'Université de Messine (Italie).

Rapport pays : Royaume-Uni

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays du Royaume-Uni ont été fournies par John Habergham, avocat et directeur de Myton Law (GB).

Rapport pays : Croatie / Hrvatska

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays de Croatie ont été fournies par Nikoleta Radionov, professeur de droit maritime à l'Université de Zagreb et Adriana Padovan, attachée de recherches principale à l'Institut adriatique de l'Académie croate des Sciences et des Arts.

Rapport pays : Lituanie / Lietuvos Respublika

Les informations contenues dans le rapport pays de Lituanie ont été fournies par Giedrus Abromavicius, avocat associé, Cabinet Cobalt.